Skip Navigation

Environment Magazine September/October 2008

About Us

About Environment

Now in its 54th year of publication, Environment: Science and Policy for Sustainable Development analyzes the problems, places, and people where environment and development come together, illuminating concerns from the local to the global. More readable than specialized journals and more timely than textbooks, Environment offers peer-reviewed articles and commentaries from researchers and practitioners who provide a broad range of international perspectives. This ISI-rated magazine also features in-depth reviews of major policy reports, conferences, and environmental education initiatives, as well as guides to the best Web sites, journal articles, and books.

Managing Editor
Margaret Benner Smidt

Executive Editors

Susan L. Cutter
Anthony A. Leiserowitz
Alan H. McGowan
Timothy O'Riordan

Contributing Editors
 Sherburne B. Abbott, Arun Agrawal,
 Julian Agyeman, Xuemei Bai,
 Tariq Banuri, David W. Cash,
 George E. Clark, William C. Clark,
 Joel Darmstadter, Carl Folke,
 Kelly Sims Gallagher, Ralph Hamann,
 Robert C. Harriss, Helen Ingram, Jill Jäger,
 Robert W. Kates, Thomas M. Parris,
 Barbara T. Richman, Noelle Eckley Selin,
 Paul Slovic, Lorrae VanKerkhoff,
 Henry J. Vaux Jr., Bhawani Venkataraman,
 Coleen Vogel, Thomas J. Wilbanks


Advertising Sales Representative
Sally Wright

Production Editor
Andrew Hoffmann

Executive Editor Bios

Susan L. Cutter  is a Carolina Distinguished Professor of Geography and the director of the Hazards and Vulnerability Research Institute at the University of South Carolina. Her primary research interests are in the area of vulnerability science—what makes people and the places where they live vulnerable to extreme events and how this vulnerability is measured, monitored, and assessed. Most recently, she has led a Hurricane Katrina post-event field team to examine the geographic extent of storm surge inundation along the Mississippi and Alabama coastline and its relationship to the social vulnerability of communities. 

She is an elected Fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science (1999), and past President of the Association of American Geographers (2000). In 2006, Dr. Cutter was the recipient of the Decade of Behavior Research Award given by a multidisciplinary consortium of more than 50 national and international scientific organizations in the social and behavioral sciences.

Anthony A. Leiserowitz Ph.D. is a research scientist at the Yale University School of Forestry & Environmental Studies and Director of the Yale Project on Climate Change Communication. He is an expert on public opinion about climate change and the environment. His research investigates the psychological, cultural, and political factors that influence environmental attitudes, policy support, and behavior. He conducts research at the global, national, and local scales, including many surveys of the American public. He also conducted the first study of worldwide public values, attitudes, and behaviors regarding sustainability, including environmental protection, economic prosperity, and human development.  


Alan H. McGowan is an associate professor in the Interdisciplinary Science Program at Eugene Lang College, The New School. He is interested in the social impact of science and technology, including environmental, environmental justice, and racial issues.

He is board chair of Student Pugwash USA; a board member of the Bermuda Biological Station for Research and the Metcalf Institute for Environmental Journalism; an elected member of the Council on Foreign Relations and the Society of Environmental Journalists, and a fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science.


Before retiring in July 2005,

Timothy O’Riordan

was a professor of environmental sciences at the University of East Anglia in Norwich, England. He has promoted the cause of interdisciplinary research for sustainable development and led two international research projects on the transition to sustainability in the European Union (1995–1999). Editor of a number of books on the institutional aspects of global environmental change policy and practice, his current research interests are focused on global-local relations and their implications for the transition to sustainability in Europe.

He was elected Fellow of the Royal Academy in 1999 and continues to be an active member of the UK Sustainable Development Commission.

About Us Information

Taylor & Francis

© 2015  Taylor & Francis Group · 530 Walnut Street, Suite 850, Philadelphia, PA · 19106